3D IC Platform
XMC 3DLink™ Technology Platform S-stacking® M-stacking® Hi-stacking™

XMC 3DLink™ Technology Platform

XMC 3DLink™ is an industry's leading 3D IC technology platform which enables direct bonding of multiple wafers or wafers to chips in a vertical direction utilizing semiconductor nanoscale-interconnection technology. This platform includes three technology categories, two-wafer stacking technology (S-stacking®), multi-wafer stacking technology (M-stacking®) and heterogeneous integration technology (Hi-stacking™). Among them, S-stacking® is mainly used in fields such as sensors (CIS, ToF), high-speed computing and in-storage computing, and M-stacking® is mainly for high-bandwidth memory, etc. After years of experience in R&D and mass production, XMC has built up a stable and reliable wafer-level 3D stacking process platform. Meanwhile, XMC plans to develop heterogeneous integration technology (Hi-stacking™) which can be applied for bonding with different die sizes or substrate materials.

In addition to significantly reducing chip size and achieving wafer-level interconnection, XMC 3DLink™ technology can improve chip performance with faster I/O speed, higher bandwidth, lower latency and lower power consumption, providing a powerful solution for chips of sensor, high-speed computing and HBM, etc.

XMC 3DLink™ Technology Highlights

- Nearly 10 years of technology experience
- 400+ independent innovation patents
- 99.9% bonding yield
- Meet JEDEC standard
- Complete design kits to support customized development
- High added-value for middle and high-end markets
- The world's unique million-level connection density
- World-class multi-wafer stacking process

XMC S-stacking® Technology

XMC S-stacking® technology enables direct bonding of two wafers in a vertical direction utilizing semiconductor nanoscale-interconnection technology.

In addition to significantly reducing chip size and achieving wafer-level interconnection, this technology can improve chip performance with faster I/O speed, higher bandwidth, lower latency and lower power consumption.

XMC S-stacking® technology was successfully developed in 2016, till now XMC has accumulated world-leading mass production experience and technical capabilities. It has been successfully applied in high-speed computing, 3D depth sensors (ToF), 3D stacked memory and other fields, bringing excellent product performance and user experience to customers.

XMC M-stacking® Technology

XMC M-stacking® technology adopts a bumpless process to enable Cu-Cu interconnection of multiple wafers and lower interconnection resistance, which is a breakthrough over the traditional package-level Micro-bump interconnection architecture. This technology has achieved higher interconnection density and alignment accuracy with bonding yield of 99.5%.

Compared with traditional HBM, wafer-level stacking increases the bandwidth by 20 times and reduces the chip thickness by 40%.

XMC completed the process verification of three-wafer stacking technology at the end of 2018, and successfully developed five-wafer stacking process in 2020. XMC M-stacking® technology provides a new solution for high-bandwidth memory, wafer Level HBM. This technology will provide more flexible and extensive options for applications such as data centers, high-speed computing, and IoT.

XMC Hi-stacking™ Technology

XMC plans to develop Hi-stacking™, a 3D heterogeneous integration technology with more flexible design and process solutions.

Unlike traditional package-level interconnection architecture, XMC Hi-stacking™ technology can provide heterogeneous integration solutions for different die sizes or substrate materials, enabling stacking with more flexibility while achieving higher yield of stacked product and lower costs.

XMC 3D heterogeneous integration technology (Hi-stacking™) can multiply the product’s memory density and communication bandwidth. It will serve the IoT, etc. markets that has a very high requirement for multi-module heterogeneous system integration with high-performance and low-power.

三维集成技术平台
XMC 3DLink™ 技术平台 S-stacking® M-stacking® Hi-stacking™

XMC 3DLink™ 技术平台

武汉新芯3DLink™是业界领先的半导体三维集成技术平台,可利用纳米级互连技术将多片晶圆或晶圆与芯片在垂直方向直接连接在一起。该平台包括两片晶圆堆叠技术S-stacking®、多片晶圆堆叠技术M-stacking®和异质集成技术Hi-stacking™等技术类别。其中S-stacking®主要应用于传感器(如CIS, ToF)、高速运算及存算一体等产品,M-stacking®主要应用于高带宽存储器等产品。经过多年的技术研发和量产,武汉新芯已搭建起稳定可靠的晶圆级三维堆叠工艺平台,同时计划开发针对不同芯片尺寸或不同基底材质的异质集成技术Hi-stacking™。

武汉新芯3DLink™技术能明显减小芯片面积,实现更短的连接距离,同时可提升连接速度和通道数目,带来高带宽、低延时和低功耗等优势,为传感器、高速运算和高带宽存储器等芯片系统提供强大的技术支持。

XMC 3DLink™ 技术优势

- 近10年研发量产经验
- 自主创新专利超400项
- 键合良率高达99.9%
- 符合JEDEC标准
- 完整的设计套件,支持定制化开发
- 高附加值,面向中高端市场
- 世界独有的百万级连接密度
- 世界一流的多晶圆堆叠工艺

XMC S-stacking® 技术

武汉新芯S-stacking®技术利用纳米级互连技术将两片晶圆在垂直方向直接连接在一起。

该技术能明显减小芯片面积,实现更短的连接距离,同时可提升连接速度和通道数目,带来高带宽、低延时和低功耗等优势。

武汉新芯S-stacking®技术于2016年研发成功,其量产经验及技术能力已达到世界领先水平。该技术已成功应用于高速运算、3D深度传感器、3D堆叠存储器等领域,给客户带来卓越的产品性能和用户体验。

XMC M-stacking® 技术

武汉新芯M-stacking®技术打破传统封装级HBM Micro-bump互连架构,采用无凸点(Bumpless)工艺实现多片晶圆的Cu-Cu互连和更低的互连电阻,达到更高的互连密度及对准精度,键合良率达99.5%。

在产品性能上,晶圆级堆叠比传统HBM提高了20倍带宽,并将芯片厚度降低了40%。

武汉新芯于2018年底完成3片晶圆级堆叠工艺验证,2020年成功开发5片晶圆级堆叠工艺。武汉新芯M-stacking®技术可以为高带宽存储器HBM提供新的解决方案——Wafer Level HBM。此技术将为数据中心、快速运算、物联网等应用提供更灵活更广泛的选择。

XMC Hi-stacking™ 技术

武汉新芯计划开发设计与工艺灵活度更高的三维异质集成的技术Hi-stacking™。

此技术突破传统封装级连接方式,基于晶圆间三维集成技术,可开发针对不同芯片尺寸或不同基底材质的异质集成解决方案,从而使堆叠方案更灵活,同时提升堆叠后产品的良率,降低产品成本。

武汉新芯三维异质集成技术Hi-stacking™可实现产品存储容量和通信带宽的倍增,未来将服务于对高性能、低功耗的多模块异质系统集成有强烈需求的物联网等领域。